Stuffed Haddock

This morning I took out three haddock fillets that I had frozen a couple of weeks ago, knowing that I wanted to make haddock this evening for supper, BUT, ‘how?’ was the question (and the question I often have when cooking haddock). I usually fry haddock in a pan with a little bit of olive oil, lemon, and dill or I will make fish cakes – I rarely get creative when making haddock. I want that to change!

This morning, I jumped online (my large cookbook) and quickly found a recipe from The Canadian Living website. When I read this recipe it seemed so simple and better yet, I had all of the ingredients. Reading this recipe, I knew that I wanted to add a couple extra ingredients and that I wanted to make a few changes. 

So…

Using this recipe as an inspiration, here is my own rendition on Canadian Living’s Haddock Stuffed with Broccoli and Canadian Cheese Pilaf. Enjoy!

Here is the finished product to start… to get you excited about making this recipe!

  

Ingredients:

– 1 small onion

– 1 cup of kale 

– 1/2 cup of broccoli floret – small pieces

– 9 or so pieces of asparagus 

– 1/2 cup of diced tomato

– 1/2 cup of medium cheddar cheese (40% less fat)

– 1/2 cup of brown rice 

– 4 large haddock fillets

– 1 tbsp of oilive oil

– 1 tsp of minced garlic

– 1 tbsp of fresh parsley 

– 1 tsp of salt, pepper, dill, red pepper flakes

Directions:

1 – Cook rice (follow directions on box)

2 – Steam broccoli and pieces of asparagus 

  

3 – In a large pan, add olive oil. Fry onions and garlic for a few minutes and then add cooked rice and broccoli. *Place steamed asparagus aside.

  

4 – Add kale and diced tomatoes in the mix. Also, add red pepper flakes.

5 – Cook ingredients until the onions and kale are soft. Then add the cheese.

  

  

6 – Place rice mixture in centre of the haddock fillets, add 2-3 asparagus inside as well, then roll up. Place fillets on greased tinfoil (on a baking pan). 

  

*I needed to use toothpicks to keep the haddock together.

7 – Sprinkle salt, pepper, dill, and parsely on top of fish and then bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

Voilà! The finished product.

  

  

This recipe makes four servings and best served with a mixed green salad.

I only had three pieces of fish so I had left over rice mixture, but it will be good to eat tomorrow with a salad. Therefore, in the fridge it goes!

Enjoy this healthy, straightforward, and most importantly, full-flavored recipe.

Holly

Leave a Reply

