Homemade Granola Bars

Who does not like granola bars? I rarely buy them, but sometimes wish I had them in my cupboard. I wanted to make my own over the March Break, but had no idea what recipe to use. Therefore, I checked out a few recipes online on how to make chewey granolar bars. I have made some bars before (check out the post on Quinoa Granola Bars) and really loved them, but I wanted to try a new recipe. So what I did, I looked up a bunch of recipes and then decided to create my own bars instead, due to the fact that there are thousands of different recipes out there and I could not pick one. Take a look at my pictures/directions on how to make the granola bars.

Start off with the main ingredients:

-1 cup of oats

-1/2 cup of chocolate chips (optional)

-2 cups of mixed trailmix (I used craisins, mango, flax seeds, almonds, sunflower seeds, coconut flakes, etc.) You can use any type of nut/dried fruit.

*I bought all of these ingredients at the Bulk Barn.

-Mix all of the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. 

-Melt 1/2 cup of honey and 1/3 cup of coconut oil.  *Note: Next time I will be using less honey and less coconut oil.

-Add 1 tsp of Vanilla Extract.

-Poor wet ingredients into the dry mixture. 

-I also added 1/4 cup of Peanut Butter into the mix.

-Mix all ingredients together and then place in a pan (on parchment paper) and then place in fridge for 90 minutes (or until hardened).

-Fini! Cut bars any way you like! I cut the bars up and then individually packaged in tinfoil and then placed back into the fridge.

Andrew and I did enjoy these bars. We liked how they were chewey (what I wanted), but still had the crunch from the variety of nuts.

Next time, I will only use oats and nuts, no fruit and chocolate chips. I will also add less honey and less coconut oil.

Enjoy! Let me know how these turn out for you.

Leave a Reply

